"Your Daily POPculture Re-up"

Kelly Rowland Talks Mr. Right, DC and Interracial Dating with VIBE

The “Juicy” Issue of Vibe has finally hit magazine shelves and we have highlights from the cover story: Kelly Rowland.  See what she has to say about her first solo success, Destiny’s Child and being down with “the swirl:”

On the success of “Dilemma:”

No, I really wasn’t. And I was the first one from the group to have that level of success outside of the group. That bugged me out. I was very… I wasn’t ready.The song blew up and Columbia decided to rush out your solo record.Yeah. The plan was for Beyoncé to drop a solo record fi rst. But with the success of the song, they decided to put my album out first. They gave me 90 days to do an entire record.

On the press making assumptions about Destiny’s Child:

They want me to say that I can’t stand Michelle. That I can’t stand Beyoncé. But that’s not the case. It’s real love. Sorry, it’s a boring story. I take that back. I’m not sorry. We can support each other. That’s the way it should be. You hear too many stories about women bickering. And that’s not the case with us.

On whether there’s tension between her and former manager Matthew Knowles:

No. It was just a feeling of growing and wanting to call my own shots. That was it. I thank Mathew for everything he’s done for me. He made me a millionaire at 18 years old. And then I felt like, “Well, I’m an adult now and I want to do things this way.”

On whether she wants a “Mr. Right Now” or “Mr. Right:”

I like a Mr. Right. I don’t want them hopping around with Sarah, Michelle, Jessica… I want him to be mine.

On whether she dates outside of her race:

Absolutely. [Laughs] I’ve been down with the swirl.

 

More photos and the entire interview here.

Leave a Reply

