"Your Daily POPculture Re-up"

divaFotos: Salma Hayek in Allure Mag

Salma Hayek covers the September issue of Allure Magazine and got all dolled up for a gorg photoshoot with the renowned Mario Testino.  She also sat down for an interview where she talked about growing up in Mexico, getting older and her daughter Valentina:

On the body part that’s gotten better with age.

“My boobs,” she says with a laugh. “They’re not bad, by the way. I’m not complaining about them.” 

On feeling comfortable as you get older:

“As a woman, you should be more at ease with your sexuality when you are in your 40s.  You are more self-assured about that part. And that’s the way it should be. If you are a girl who cannot walk in heels, it doesn’t matter how beautiful you are. If you look like a chicken that’s been spiked in the feet, it’s not going to be sexy.”

On getting teased as a child:

 “I got teased because I was too short, or I was too brown.  You would think in Mexico that would be something normal, but I did get teased.”

On preserving youth:

“I believe that every woman is entitled to fight to preserve her youth.  It’s like the uniform of a generation.  And it’s not necessarily beautiful. It’s not wrinkled-looking, but it’s not beautiful.”

On priveledged children:

“I never understood the point of being privileged if you don’t get to have the privileges. Like, people who won’t take their kids to an expensive restaurant, or won’t travel with them, or make them pay for everything at a really young age. I think it’s important that kids have responsibilities and understand the value of things, but I think it’s great that my daughter gets to travel the world.”

On her grandmother (who was a beautician):

“She started working on my skin when I was 12 or 13.  I never used soap on my face. Once, she shaved our heads and put egg on it and all these things. But I have to give her credit—my hair is great.”

On her beauty line:

 “I’m [creating this line] with the philosophy that within you there is beauty, and you have to learn how to find it and enhance it in a natural way…. One thing that is exciting about being a woman is that you can rediscover your beauty over and over and over.”

 

 

[Source]

Leave a Reply

