"Your Daily POPculture Re-up"

divaFotos: Adam Levine Talks Gay Brother and American Idol in ‘OUT’

Maroon 5 frontman Adam Levine looks dashing inside the pages of OUT Magazine’s September issue.  The often shirtless Voice judge had lots to talk about and we have highlights (and more fotos) below:

On American Idol closeting gay contestants:

“What’s always pissed me off about Idol is wanting to mask that, for that to go unspoken. C’mon. You can’t be publicly gay? At this point? On a singing competition? Give me a break. You can’t hide basic components of these people’s lives. The fact that The Voice didn’t have any qualms about being completely open about it is a great thing.”

On his younger brother coming out:

“We all really wanted to provide some cushion for him and constantly let him know that’s it’s OK.  A lot of people don’t want their kid to be gay and will fight it at all costs. But I’ve got news for you—it’s a losing f–king battle. The more you fight it, the more f–ked-up your kid’s gonna be. You’ve gotta embrace it from the beginning. That’s the only way to deal with it as a family. Otherwise, you’re just screwing yourself over, and you’re gonna make your kid miserable.”

On being comfortable in his sexuality:

“I’m extremely comfortable in my sexuality, so I can think, Oh, that’s a good-looking dude.  Acknowledging that someone’s attractive and wanting to f–k a dude are two different things. [I]f people didn’t think there was a small chance I was gay, then I wouldn’t be doing my job very well.  Look at the best ones, guys whose sexuality was always questioned. [David] Bowie. [Mick] Jagger. Freddie Mercury. I wouldn’t be the front man of a band if that question hadn’t come up at some point.”

On being naked:

“I just love being as naked as possible all the time—it feels really natural to me.”

I personally don’t mind seeing him without any clothes 😛

 

 

 

 

 

[Source]

Leave a Reply

