"Your Daily POPculture Re-up"

John Mayer: ‘I Was a Tweetaholic’

John Mayer, who was once considered the King of Twitter, now admits that he may have used it too much.  In an interview with Rolling Stone, the “Heartbreak Warfare” singer talks about how his addiction eventually became too much:

“I was a tweetaholic.  I had four million Twitter followers, and I was always writing on it. And I stopped using Twitter as an outlet and I started using Twitter as the instrument to riff on, and it started to make my mind smaller and smaller and smaller. And I couldn’t write a song.”

Now tweet-free, Mayer has a fresh strategy when it comes to creating new music:

“Here are the rules for recording this record: No drum machines, no loops, no keyboards to start out with, no excuses, no breaks, no laptops, no nothing.  If you take a break, it’s to eat. If you’re done, you go home.” 

I like his new attitude.

[Source]

Leave a Reply

