"Your Daily POPculture Re-up"

divaFotos: Frieda Pinto Talks Movie Career and Dev Patel in Interview Mag

Frieda Pinto has captured the eyes and ears of fans worldwide since her role as “Latika” in Slumdog Millionaire.  The Indian bombshell is starring in the high budget film Rise of the Planet of the Apes (coming out this weekend) and recently sat down with style.com’s Tim Blanks for a dope interview with Interview Magazine. She’s talking about her boyfriend and Slumdog Millionaire co-star Dev Patel, her family and Indian film.  Click here to read the full interview.

Sidenote: This diva is FREAKING GORGEOUS #sigh.  The highlights and more fotos (taken by Marcus Piggott and Mert Alas):

On whether she gets criticized for not doing more Indian films:

Um . . . Yes. I was upset initially. I guess everybody in India has tried really hard to do what they do and then move into the West. And I suppose I just popped in from nowhere, like, “Who the hell is she?” So I can kind of understand the surprise, and that’s why I’m not bitter about it. My friends meet people all the time who say things like, “But what has Freida done before?” Obviously they get defensive about me because they’re my friends, but they also try to understand the other side to make me understand it better. And I feel it’s maybe a very human tendency.

On her looks and people mistaking her for other ethnicities:

I like the roles that I have played to date. I’m not saying I look Arab or I look Spanish or anything, but I could if I wanted to. And I have…The Portuguese people love to claim me as one of their own, and I don’t like that! When I was in Istanbul for vacation recently, this large group of women came up to me saying “Pin-to! Pin-to!” And when they introduced themselves and said they were from Portugal, I said, “Yeah? I’m from India,” and they were saying, “Did you know that your last name is actually very Portuguese?” and I was like, “Yes, I did.”

On getting her start in modeling:

Elite [modeling agency] was one step toward making pocket money so that I could be more independent. I did not particularly enjoy modeling. I felt I was only utilizing 10 or 20 percent of my abilities. In India, it’s just another job. Luckily, Full Circle, the travel show happened, and I did that for nine months. Then Slumdog Millionaire happened. And then there was this tension and pressure of “Now what? Where do I go from here? What if no one approaches me?” But then I guess it was just destiny. The film became what it became, offers kept coming in . . .

On boyfriend Dev Patel:

For both Dev and me, Slumdog was our first film, and it became so massive that you had to preserve and pro- tect what you had before, that innocence, without getting sucked in. And who better to do it with than someone who knows what you’re thinking? Dev had never done a talk show before—his first was [Late Show With] David Letterman—and he said to me, “You have to come with me and give me moral support.” So it was very much a case of being there for my friend. Nothing we did was planned. We were making a lot of mistakes, but we were together, and most of the time our mistakes were looked on as, “Oh my god, that’s so cute.”

I don’t think anybody—not even family or friends—can understand what the two of us have been through. As beautiful as it is, there are parts of it that just become a bit tiring to deal with. The paparazzi, for example, and not having privacy. He made a statement unknowingly once and he said, “Oh, she is like my soul mate,” and we were not dating or anything back then, and it became this big hoopla. Like, “Oh my god! How could he have said that? What does that mean?” But I guess he was right in a way; we are soul mates.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

