"Your Daily POPculture Re-up"

Angelina Jolie: ‘I Don’t Love Acting As Much As I Did’

Angelina Jolie, who rarely makes public appearances (because she wants to), sat down with Financial Times to talk about life these days and how her views on acting have changed since starting a family with long time (at least in Hollywood) partner Brad Pitt.  Interview highlights:

On acting:

“As Brad and I get older we’re going to do fewer films,” Jolie revealed. “I’ve been working for a long time, he’s been working for a long time, we’ve had a nice run and don’t want to be doing this our whole lives. There are a lot of other things to do…I don’t love [acting] as much [as I did]. I love being a mom.” 

 “I’ve never not been grateful to be an actor, but I think when I was younger I needed [acting] more.  I was trying to question things in life so you find these characters that help you find things and grow.  [Acting is] like being in therapy, in a way.  You’re drawn to certain roles because they question something about life, or about love, or about freedom. You ask these questions as you grow up: am I strong enough, am I sane enough? Do I understand love, do I understand myself? I’m older and I know who I am, and I’m less interested in the character helping me answer something than in being able to answer it for myself, as a woman, as an adult, with my family.”

On settling down in one place with her family (which includes Brad and their six children: Maddox, Pax, Zahara, Shiloh and twins Vivienne and Knox):

“Home is wherever we are.  I’m very bad at staying in one place.  I’m also bad at sitting still. I was a terrible student at school. But there’s so much to explore in the world, so I love travel. If you can travel I think it’s the best way to raise kids.”

On her kids learning about their various backgrounds:

“They are all learning about each others cultures as well as being proud of their own. So it’s not like just the boys get to do the Asian thing.  They all have their flags over their beds and their individual pride. We owe Vietnam a visit, because Pax is due. Z wants to get back to Africa, and Shiloh, too. So everyone takes their turns in their country.”

Jolie recently made her directorial debut with the yet-to-be-released In the Land of Blood and Honey, a romance film.  Mother/actress/partner/director/humanitarian….a true diva, indeed.

[Source]

Leave a comment