"Your Daily POPculture Re-up"

J. Cole Recalls College Days; Reflects on LOUD Tour

Rihanna continued the North American leg of her LOUD tour this weekend in NJ with opening act J. Cole.  He was originally meant to be replaced by Ladykiller singer Cee-Lo Green about a month ago, but ended up becoming the official opener after Green pulled out for commitments to The Voice.  In a sit down with MTV News at NJ’s Izod Center, Cole talked about his experience on tour and his early attempts at breaking into the music industry:

On the LOUD tour:

“At first, I just thought I was in over my head…I come out, [fans] cheer for me, [like], ‘Ah, this guy’s onstage,’ “ he explained of how he’s greeted when he takes the arena stage. “But by the end of my show, I get the real cheers, like, ‘Oh, man! This guy’s pretty good!’ “

On his days at St. John’s University in N.Y.:

“I was sending out MySpace messages everyday to people I knew that were A&R,” he recalled of his years at St. John’s University in New York. “Calling up their offices, rapping on their voicemails, standing outside of studios … anything I could do to get my foot in the game.”

Almost three years ago, Cole met with Jay-Z at his offices after the RocNation president heard several of Cole’s mixtape tracks.  Today, Cole is getting ready to release his debut album, Cole World: The Sideline Story, and opening for one of pop music’s biggest stars.

“Ever since then, I’ve been touring, touring, putting out mixtapes, touring, touring…Building my name, building my fanbase.”

Are you excited for J. Cole’s debut album?

[Source]

Leave a Reply

