"Your Daily POPculture Re-up"

Beyonce Talks Frank Ocean, Jay-Z and R&B Music in Complex

Beyonce looks like a queen on the cover of Complex Magazine’s August 2011 issue.  Inside, she’s gushing about her hubby, talking about bringing classic R&B to the radio and what gets on her nerves.  Interview highlights below:

On 4’s R&B sound:

“Figuring out a way to get R&B back on the radio is challenging.  Everything sounds the same on the radio. With 4 I tried to mix R&B from the ’70s and the ’90s with rock ‘n’ roll and a lot of horns to create something new and exciting. I wanted musical changes, bridges, vibrata, live instrumentation, and classic songwriting.”

On Frank Ocean:

“Jay had a CD playing in the car one Sunday when we were driving to Brooklyn.  I noticed his tone, his arrangements, and his storytelling. I immediately reached out to him—literally the next morning. I asked him to fly to New York and work on my record.”

On recognizing hit songs:

“I’ve found that with hit records the melody and lyrics come together [naturally].  I usually know from the hook if the song is something that transcends language, race, and genre, and if it’s something that affects pop culture. It’s something I can visualize people singing in stadiums all over the world. But my favorite songs on my albums are usually not my singles.”

On Jay-Z:

“Jay’s music is more than music. His lyrics have fathered generations.  All that he has overcome gives millions so much hope. There are moments when I see his lips moving and I can see lyrics floating above his head and I think, ‘Wow! How did I get so lucky to be able to witness this level of genius so closely?’”

On complaining and motivating herself:

 “I only allow myself one day to feel sorry for myself. People who complain really get on my nerves. When I’m not feeling my best I ask myself, ‘What are you gonna do about it?’ I use the negativity to fuel the transformation into a better me.”

On creating her own lane:

“There is room on this earth for many queens.  I have an authentic, God-given talent, drive, and longevity that will always separate me from everyone else. I’ve been fortunate to accomplish things that the younger generation of queens dream of accomplishing. I have no desire for anyone else’s throne. I am very comfortable in the throne I’ve been building for the past 15 years.”

Beyonce is a diva in control.  Love it!  For the entire story, visit the Complex website.

Leave a Reply

