"Your Daily POPculture Re-up"

Monica Explains Why Lil Kim Verse Was Cut From ‘Anything (To Find You)’

Last week, Monica released the first single, “Anything  (To Find You),”  from her seventh album New Life, set to drop October 3.  Rick Ross and Lil Kim both had guest spots on the song, but now Lil Kim’s already short verse has been cut completely.  Monica took to Twitter to explain that she had been forced to remove the verse because Biggie’s estate wouldn’t allow it.  Violetta Wallace, who I’m guessing still has issues with Kim, has the authority to make the decision since the song samples a B.I.G song.  <

Monica’s tweets:

“I am just finding out what has happened to my single and myself & Missy are beyond hurt that @LilKim was removed. She’s our friend, a legend. & @LilKim will get the respect she deserves at all cost. The clearance was revoked & I’m fighting to get it reinstated by the Biggie Estate. We respect all parties involved & we are gonna do WHATEVER to keep the song as is because @lilKim is the bizness on the record…I am as thorough as they come and I LOVE @LilKim bottom line is Ms Wallace has the final say and she said No. If we put it out we get SUED.”

Kim fans began tweeting insults to Monica, to which she replied:

“You are directing your anger in the wrong place & I am far too deep in the game to play games. These are facts. Still fighting for Kim to be on it….”

Let ’em know Monica! I am sad that Kim’s verse was removed.  I think she sounds great on the track and looked forward to hearing the full 16 at some point.  We’ll just have to wait and see if she has anything to say about this.

[Source]

Leave a Reply

