"Your Daily POPculture Re-up"

Beyonce Takes Over GMA Concert Series

Beyonce shut down New York City this morning with her show stopping appearance on Good Morning America’s Concert Series.  She performed a slew of songs from her new album (“Run the World,” “Best Thing I Never Had,” “1+1”) and an old favorite (“Single Ladies”).  After tearing down the stage, Beyonce had a chat with Robin Roberts.  Interview highlights ( [Source] ):

On her album being musical gumbo:


It’s all of my musical influences and everything that has inspired me over my travels.I was able to go and see some festivals and see some of the artists I’d never get to see because I rarely get to watch a performance. It’s a bit of rock, jazz, and a lot of live instrumentation. I wanted to bring chords, bridges and melody back on the radio and that was my goal. I figured after all these years; I earned the right to have artistic freedom and just make good music and not try to make regular songs.

On the remake of A Star is Born:


Clint Eastwood, can you believe that? I can’t believe it still. I know when I met with him I was like in awe and I’m so, so honored that he believes in me. I can’t wait to do this film; I represent this generation’s talent and for me to be the chosen person as a African American woman is incredible.

On making women feel good about themselves with her music:


That is my message and I try to write and sing songs that I think we as women like to hear. I know sometimes it’s hard to realize how amazing we are so I’m very happy to be able to do that to women around the world
.

On why she made an appearance at the Boys & Girls Club in Harlem:


I remember being a young girl and admiring Michael [Jackson], Diana [Ross] and I remember how much music kept me free. To know that people watch me, it may keep them off streets and keep them focused. I feel like that’s one of the reasons I’m here and I’m very proud of that.

I’m personally not feeling the idea of the A Star is Born remake.  That is a classic Old Hollywood film and those are movies the just shouldn’t be remade.  However, we’re talking about Academy Award winning director Clint Eastwood, so it could turn out amazing.  We’ll just have to wait and see.

ABC has removed the video of the performances unfortunately 😦

Leave a Reply

