"Your Daily POPculture Re-up"

Missy Elliott On Graves Disease: I Feel Great

Over the weekend People magazine reported that Missy Elliott was battling Graves disease. Now with a background in Biology let me break this down for you all. Graves disease is an autoimmune illness that affects the thyroid. The thyroid aids in regulating the hormones that control metabolism and growth. Missy suffered symptoms that consisted of lumps in her throat, dizzy spells, hair loss, severe mood swings and had been medicated and undergoing radiation for treatment.

Missy released the following statement saying,

“There have been some inaccuracies reported in regards to my diagnosis with Graves’ Disease, so I wanted to clear things up. I was diagnosed with Graves’ Disease about three years ago but it really hasn’t slowed me down at all. I rocked my performance on VH1 Hip Hop Honors’ tribute to Timbaland last year. I’ve written and produced a bunch of Grammy-nominated, #1 hits for artists like Keyshia Cole, Monica and Jasmine Sullivan. I toured the UK, Europe, Asia, Africa and Australia. And on top of all that, I’m working on my new album. I feel great. Under my doctor’s supervision, I’ve been off medication for about a year and I’m completely managing the condition through diet and exercise.” — Missy Elliott.

We’re happy to hear that Missy hasn’t slowed down and is continuing her music, the best to her.

Leave a Reply

