"Your Daily POPculture Re-up"

Christina Aguilera Strips Down and Talks ‘Bad Luck’ Year with ‘W’ Magazine

Christina Aguilera leaves little to the imagination on the cover of next month’s W Magazine.   Inside, she’s talking about her divorce, flubbing the lyrics to the Star Spangled Banner, and falling at the Grammy’s:

On her marriage and divorce:

 “Sometimes, especially in the last six months, I still feel like going to the window and singing out all my troubles. I laugh a lot lately. People expect me to cry, but I always laugh when things go wrong…”At one time or another we were both not angels. It got to a point where our life at home was reminding me of my own childhood.  I will not have my son grow up in a tension-­filled home. I knew there would be a negative reaction in the press to my divorce, but I am not ­going to live my life because of something someone might say. That goes against everything I sing on my records. I have to be myself.”

On reports that she passed out from drunkeness in actor Jeremy Renner’s bed:

 “At one point I sat on the edge of a bed. It was a guest room. But it only takes one person to start the negativity, and then everyone wants to hop aboard and continue the story.”

On messing up the words to the “Star Spangled Banner” at this year’s Superbowl:

“I got lost in the emotion of being there and I messed up the lyrics to the song…I went to dinner after the Super Bowl with Matt and I laughed about how I’d made myself into a Trivial ­Pursuit question: ‘In 2011 what female singer flubbed the lyrics to the national anthem?'”

On falling during an Aretha Franklin tribute at the Grammy’s:

“I know what everyone was saying…And during that Grammy moment, when I nearly collapsed, I was thinking, Are you kidding me? I’ve always been really good with my heels. Even pregnant, I could perform in heels. Note to self: Never wear a train onstage. My heel got caught in my train, and if it wasn’t for Jennifer Hudson, who picked me up as I went down, I would have fallen to the floor. When it happened, it was just like, What else, God?! What else?! I threw my hands up in the air and started smiling, because what else could go wrong?”

I think it’s safe to say that Aguilera has had a tough year.  Fortunately, her new gig on The Voice is a hit and she’s making new music.  She can only go up from here…hopefully.

Leave a Reply

