"Your Daily POPculture Re-up"

Gabrielle Union: “I Tried To Shoot My Rapist”

With the recent backlash that Rihanna has been receiving for her “Man Down” video another celebrity is jumping to her defense…..Gabrielle Union.

After viewing the video Gabby came out revealing her own heart breaking story about how she was raped,

“Saw ‘Man Down’ by @rihanna. Every victim/survivor of rape is unique, including how they THINK they’d like justice 2 be handed out.  During my rape I tried 2 shoot my rapist, bt I missed. Over the yrs I realized tht killin my rapist would’ve added insult 2 injury. The DESIRE 2 kill someone whose abused/raped u is understandable, bt unless its self defense n the moment 2 save ur life, just ADDS 2 ur troubles #mandown.”

After support was shown for her comment she later went on to say,

“Stranger who robbed the store I worked at,” she said, identifying her rapist. “He put his gun dwn durin the rape & asked me 2 [hand] it 2 him.”

“#Mandown video did a GREAT job of getting the ENTIRE world TALKING abt RAPE.  I hope tht it leads 2 HEALING & PREVENTS RAPE.”

Gabrielle Union took a huge step by coming out with her story but I see the light in the message. I don’t encourage violence of any kind but the over all message of Rihanna’s video was to bring what is a touchy subject to the forefront. While the video may be graphic, it’s in no manner telling rape victims to find their rapist and shoot them. Many will disagree but to each his own.

Leave a Reply

