"Your Daily POPculture Re-up"

Lauren London Talks About Her Bi-racialness

A couple of days ago, we told you about part one of the beautiful Lauren London’s interview with Skin Deep.  In it, she talked about her celebrity status, family and her relationship with Lil Wayne.  In part two with interviewer Kathleen Cross, she answers some fun questions and talks about struggling with her bi-racial identity:

KC: You are stranded on an island for the weekend. Name three male and three female celebrities you hope are stranded there with you, and why.

LL: Dr. Phil, so he can talk me off the ledge (laughs). Barack Obama, because you better believe Air Force One is coming to get him, and we won’t be stranded too long. And, Bobby Flay, because if we’re going to be stranded we might as well be enjoying some good food.

KC: And the females?

LL: Oprah, because… (pause) she’s Oprah. Barbara Streisand, because I’ve admired her since I was a little girl. And, Khloe (Kardashian) because she’s a real friend and she’s hilarious.

KC: If you could spend a day in any man’s skin, who would you want to be for 24 hours?

LL: Will Smith. I think I could learn so much about this business being him.

KC: My last question is keeping in line with the theme of this website, Skin Deep. How do you feel about being half Black and half Jewish. How has that impacted you?

LL: Whatever your ethnicity is, in this life you are going to be on a journey to discover who you are and how you feel about yourself. I do remember being teased by my cousins on my mom’s side for not being black enough, and  then I’d spend the summer with my dad and be sent to all white summer camps where I was “that black girl.” I struggled for about a minute with that, then I figured it out for myself. What it has done for me is I don’t care what people think about my identity. If someone thinks I’m not black enough that’s their issue. I’m okay with who I am and it is what is. I’m a Black woman like my mother, and I love who my father is, and I love both sides of me.  Nobody makes a big deaI about it anymore because I won’t take that anymore.

As a bi-racial butterfly myself, I can definitely understand what she struggled with.  I think we all do at one point or another.  To read the entire interview, click here.

 

Leave a Reply

