"Your Daily POPculture Re-up"

J. Cole's Single Delayed by Kanye West Sample

This is just annoying…it better be worth the wait.

RocNation rapper J. Cole took to his Ustream to explain why his first official single didn’t drop like it was supposed to:

“I sampled a Kanye West song, but the problem is, [there’s] like five writers that he gave credit to,” Cole explained, “When you’re clearing a sample, every writer has to be contacted. So you have to contact each and every one of them and get it cleared, so it’s tougher than the average one. As soon as it clears, we’re puttin’ it out.”

 “It’s perfect for the summer. It’s beautiful…I can’t wait till ya’ll hear it and then hear the sample and the original and how I did it. I don’t feel like nobody would’ve thought to flip it like that or even would’ve heard that part.”

Cole also revealed that he is almost done with a second album as well:

 “[I’m] probably about 70% [done with] the second album. I’m tryna drop two in a year. I’m tryna come back maybe eight, nine months after…I’m tryna win that Grammy, tryna pull some Lauryn Hill shit.”

At this point, I won’t hold my breath waiting for this single, but I am still very eager to hear it.  Let’s hope it lives up to the hype that he’s created for it.

Leave a Reply

