"Your Daily POPculture Re-up"

Sugar Ray Leonard Says Former Coach Sexually Abused Him

Boxing champion and legend Sugar Ray Leonard is opening up about his dark past which includes being sexually abused by his former coach. In his autobiograph, The Big Fight: My Life In and Out of the Ring, which will be on stands next month, Leonard gives a detailed description about inappropriate acts that took place.

He recalls being in the car with his coach,

“Before I knew it, he had unzipped my pants and put his hand, then mouth, on an area that has haunted me for life. I didn’t scream. I didn’t look at him. I just opened the door and ran.”

He also expresses how he felt it was hard to talk about,

“But last year, after watching the actor Todd Bridges bare his soul on Oprah’s show about how he was sexually abused as a kid, I realized I would never be free unless I revealed the whole truth, no matter how much it hurt.”

I’m more than positive that these same acts are happening on a regular basis, not only in the sporting world but in plain ole’  regular life. Hopefully his coming out about the situation can help another young boy who may be facing the same problem.

Leave a Reply

